Noise

noise

/noiz/

noun

1.a sound, especially one that is loud or unpleasant or that causes disturbance.

synonyms:sounddinhubbubclamorracket              antonyms:silence

I’ve been back home for over 2 weeks now and I’ve observed the amount of noise in the country.  I would even call it noise pollution.   For many of us,  pollution might be limited to nature like air pollution but anything that disrupts your normal rhythm of life is also a pollutant.

Traffic at North Edsa
Traffic at North Edsa

People that live in the Philippines are used to the sounds of everyday life here.  The revving of the motor vehicles.  Cars, buses, jeepneys, tricycles, the roosters crowing, the dogs barking, the blaring advertisements, loud tv’s, even people talking all contribute to these sounds.

There is so much noise around me.    The noise that comes from actual sound can be overwhelming enough but there are also other sounds , the rumor mongering, gossiping, the bombardment of all the ads that are blaring around you (both heard and seen).  If you hear so much noise outside of you, how can you hear what you have inside.

How do you filter all of that out?  How do you segregate that from what should be really heard.  Both the external and the internal.

The physical things that produce the noise does require a lot of getting used to.  I have not been able to sleep past 5:30 or 6:00 because that’s when the town stirs the most.  I suppose, we would have to consider living somewhere more remote but you can’t help going into town and when you do you will have to deal with that.  I haven’t had the time to think.  To have that quiet time.  As some of you may know, I like to sometimes just sit in my backyard and enjoy the peaceful chirping of the birds and soak in the sun.  There is not a place around me here that I can easily go to and just sit and have that “quiet time”.  I may get it in the dead of the night but well, I also have to get some sleep.

I have to commend the people that live here.  They still perform to their best abilities despite of all the pollutants that they come in contact with day in and day out.

It will take real practice for me to find a way to filter out all the sound around me so I can hear my inner audio.

This blog was just about sharing my experience so far.  Hearing my inner self is I think a big part of the search of my True North.

Here is a you tube clip of how the traffic in Manila sounds.  I leave you with this until the next blog post.  Thank you reading.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Anna says:

    Very interesting perspective Fe. We often take for granted the “power” and “value” of quiet time. I’m confident you will be successful in finding your quiet space/time. Keep moving forward, it’s all waiting for you to find it! Take care and keep writing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

